record exchange boise
The Record Exchange - Culture Spot

[ Search Store ]

Include Tracks

[ sell us your stuff! ]

sell us your stuff!

The Record Exchange buys and trades used CDs, DVDs, Blu-ray discs and vinyl in good condition Monday-Saturday until 9 p.m. and Sunday until 6 p.m.


[ rx amazon store ]

rx amazon store

Visit The Record Exchange's Amazon Marketplace store to shop for rare and discount CDs, vinyl, DVDs and books. Live in Boise? Order online and arrange for in-store pickup!


[ go listen boise ]

go listen boise

Go Listen Boise is a non-profit, all-volunteer organization with the mission of fostering a vibrant and diverse musical culture in the Boise area.


[ outside the heard ]

[ treefort music fest ]


The Record Exchange is a proud sponsor of the sixth annual Treefort Music Fest, taking place March 22-26 throughout Downtown Boise. Treefort 2017 5-day passes are on sale at The Record Exchange starting Sept. 9!


[ rx top 10 ]

rx top 10

1. Schmilco
2. Signs of Light
The Head and the Heart
3. Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016
Jack White
4. The Complete BBC Sessions
Led Zeppelin
5. Shape Shift With Me
Against Me!
6. Popestar
7. Live at the Hollywood Bowl
The Beatles
8. Redemption and Ruin
The Devil Makes Three
9. Skeleton Tree
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
10. Sea of Noise
St. Paul and the Broken Bones

[ payette brewing company ]

Basic CMYK

The Record Exchange is a proud partner with Boise's Payette Brewing Company! Enjoy Payette Brewing Company beer (and for free!) at Record Exchange events such as Record Store Day, the annual holiday Bonus Club Sale and our singer-songwriter Birthday Bash celebrations!



September 27th, 2016


img_8205-copyThe Ramones recently released a 40th anniversary deluxe edition of their first album, and to celebrate Rhino Records sent us an amazing prize pack with the following items:

– 3CD/1LP box set of the legendary debut album
– 33 1/3 book on the album
– Two-sided Ramones photo print
– Ramones window cling
– Ramones temporary tattoo

To enter the drawing, send an email* with the subject “Ramones” HERE by midnight Thursday, Sept. 29 We will draw a name and notify the winner on Friday, Sept. 30.

This year marks the 40th anniversary of Ramones, recently named the “Greatest Punk Album Of All Time” by Rolling Stone, and certainly one of the most important and influential albums of all time. This masterpiece helped launch the punk rock scenes in both America and Britain, and went on to inspire countless other artists for generations to come.

To celebrate the Ramones’ lasting impact, Rhino will release the ultimate tribute to the band’s landmark debut, packaged in a 12″ x 12″ hardcover book. The 3CD/1LP set is a limited edition of 19,760 individually numbered copies and includes a sonically superior remastered stereo version and a meticulously recreated mono mix of the original album, plus rarities, unheard demos and an unreleased live show – all produced, mixed and mastered by the album’s original producer and mixer Craig Leon.

In addition to the music, the set also features extensive production notes about the recording of the original album by Leon, an essay looking back on the band’s early days by rock journalist Mitchell Cohen, along with additional pictures taken by Roberta Bayley, whose iconic photo of the band graces the album’s cover.

* One entry per person, NOT per email address. If you have 16 email addresses and you enter with each address, we’ll just delete 15 of them. We have the technology. To be eligible to win, you must live in the Boise metro area and be able to pick up your prize at the store.

September 26th, 2016


unnamed-1For the third year in a row, RED Distribution has teamed with an array of artists to offer limited-edition exclusive pink vinyl versions of new and recent albums for the Ten Bands One Cause fundraiser, and The Record Exchange is celebrating with an all-day listening party on Tuesday, Sept. 27!

Join us to hear tracks from the albums and enjoy a free pink donut from our friends at Guru Donuts! The first 10 people to purchase vinyl get a CD of Gilda Radner’s classic 1979 album “Live from New York” free with purchase!

Over the last 2 years, RED has donated over $65,000 to Gilda’s Club NYC by shipping pink vinyl to retailers all over the country during Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Named after comedian Gilda Radner, who passed away from the disease at the age of 43 in 1989, Gilda’s Club is an organization that provides community support for both those diagnosed with cancer and their caretakers.

Ten Bands One Cause returns Sept. 27, but this time things are a little different. Cancer impacts all of us, so RED open it up to the industry and WEA answered the call. Seven of the 10 bands are RED acts and 3 are WEA acts. Their goal together is to raise more money this year than RED did in the first two years.

2016 Ten Bands One Cause titles:

AnthraxFor All Kings
Courtney BarnettSometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit
Ed SheeranX
Jim Breuer and the Loud and RowdySongs from the Garage
My Chemical RomanceThree Cheers for Sweet Revenge
NOFXFirst Ditch Effort (available Oct. 7)
OpethSorceress (available Sept. 30)
PixiesHead Carrier (available Sept. 30)
Red Hot Chili Peppers The Getaway
The Black KeysChulahoma