record exchange boise
The Record Exchange - Culture Spot

[ Search Store ]

Include Tracks

[ 2014 staff picks ]

2014 staff picks

After weeks of scrutiny, Record Exchange staffers have completed their 2014 Top 10 lists, and leading up to Christmas we will be posting individual lists here on the website. Visit the store to view the lists in realtime and shop our special '14 Staff Picks display. Let the judgment begin!


[ payette brewing company ]

Basic CMYK

The Record Exchange is a proud partner with Boise's Payette Brewing Company! Enjoy Payette Brewing Company beer (and for free!) at Record Exchange events such as Record Store Day, the annual holiday Bonus Club Sale and our singer-songwriter Birthday Bash celebrations!


[ go listen boise ]

go listen boise

Go Listen Boise is a non-profit, all-volunteer organization with the mission of fostering a vibrant and diverse musical culture in the Boise area.


[ rx amazon store ]

rx amazon store

Visit The Record Exchange's Amazon Marketplace store to shop for rare and discount CDs, vinyl, DVDs and books. Live in Boise? Order online and arrange for in-store pickup!


[ countdown to rsd ]

[ ritter treefort bundles ]

ritter treefort bundles

Josh Ritter is returning to Boise for a special performance at the Cathedral of the Rockies during Treefort Music Fest, and The Record Exchange has exclusive album/ticket bundles (CD and LP) that get you a guaranteed-admission ticket to the show and Ritter's new album Acoustic Live Vol. 1!


[ black friday exclusives ]

black friday exclusives

Black Friday is over, but The Record Exchange still has dozens of vinyl and CD exclusives you can’t get anywhere else in the Treasure Valley!


[ rx top 10 ]

rx top 10

1. Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper
Panda Bear
2. The Lonesome Crowded West
Modest Mouse
3. This is All Yours
4. Uptown Special
Mark Ronson
5. Black Messiah
6. Ultraviolence
Lana Del Rey
7. Evermotion
8. Talking is Hard
Walk the Moon
9. Lost on the River
The New Basement Tapes
10. Metamodern Sounds in Country Music
Sturgill Simpson


January 17th, 2014


idaho ho ho 20132013 is in the books, and The Record Exchange has tallied its top sellers for the year that was. Below, you’ll find our top 25 CDs of 2013. For more 2013 top sellers, click HERE.

1. IdahoHoHo 2013, Various Artists
2. Random Access Memories, Daft Punk
3. In Our Town: Songs for Boise 150, Various Artists
4. Boys and Girls, Alabama Shakes
5. Babel, Mumford & Sons
6. Magpie and the Dandelion, The Avett Brothers
7. Pure Heroine, Lorde
8. The Lumineers, The Lumineers
9. Night Visions, Imagine Dragons
10. Modern Vampires of the City, Vampire Weekend
11. Lightning Bolt, Pearl Jam
12. The Beast in its Tracks, Josh Ritter
13. Reflektor, Arcade Fire
14. Let’s Be Still, The Head and the Heart
15. Old Yellow Moon, Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell
16. My Head is an Animal, Of Monsters and Men
17. The Worst Things Get, Neko Case
18. Some Nights, Fun.
19. The Heist, Macklemore and Ryan Lewis
20. Foreverly, Billie Joe and Norah
21. Trouble Will Find Me, The National
22. 13, Black Sabbath
23. Wondrous Bughouse, Youth Lagoon
24. The Civil Wars, The Civil Wars
25. Southeastern, Jason Isbell

January 16th, 2014


Mumford-Sons-Sigh-No-More2013 is in the books, and The Record Exchange has tallied its top sellers for the year that was. Below, you’ll find our top 25 vinyl LPs 0f 2013. For more 2013 top sellers, click HERE.

1. Sigh No More, Mumford & Sons
2. The Lumineers, The Lumineers
3. Reflektor, Arcade Fire
4. Live at Bull Moose, Mumford & Sons
5. Wondrous Bughouse, Youth Lagoon
6. Babel, Mumford & Sons
7. Magpie and the Dandelion, The Avett Brothers
8. Modern Vampires of the City, Vampire Weekend
9. Random Access Memories, Daft Punk
10. Good News for People Who Love Bad News, Modest Mouse
11. Born to Die, Lana Del Rey
12. Live, Built to Spill
13. In the Aeroplane Over the Sea, Neutral Milk Hotel
14. Kind of Blue, Miles Davis
15. We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic, Foxygen
16. Lawn Boy, Phish
17. Trouble Will Find Me, The National
18. For Emma, Forever Ago, Bon Iver
19. Like Clockwork, Queens of the Stone Age
20. Let’s Be Still, The Head and the Heart
21. The White Album, The Beatles
22. My Head is an Animal, Of Monsters and Men
23. The Year of Hibernation, Youth Lagoon
24. Heavy Metal Music, Jason Newsted
25. Fleet Foxes, Fleet Foxes

December 24th, 2013


482240180_plattenspieler_turntable_project_essential_premium_basic_phono_usb_ortofon_deltadevice_vinyltauschteller_vinylupgradeplatter_tizoacryl_059_41Turntable innovation for vinyl starters with class-leading sound quality and computer interface!

Pro-ject’s Essential Phono USB turntable ($399.99) features a quiet-running synchronous motor with silicone belt driving a low-resonance platter made from MDF. The main chassis is made from lightweight, but very stiff particle board. Utilising a straight 8,6“ aluminium tonearm with a single-pivot bearing made from steel, a spectacular good tracking of vinyl grooves is guaranteed. Due to the brilliant concept, unwanted resonances are effectively transferred into the tonearmbase and turntable chassis. Armtube and headshell are made from a single piece of aluminium.

Because Essential Phono USB comes with pre-mounted cartridge and built-in phono preamplifier with USB output, connection to both line-level input of your hifi system and PC/Mac easily can be used simultaneously!

December 23rd, 2013


vintageIn addition to new turntables, The Record Exchange always has on hand a well-curated collection of vintage turntables and stereo equipment.

Ranging in price from approximately $100-$300, vintage may be the way to go if you’re looking for quality at a great price. We don’t just bring anything in to sell, and the pieces we do are cleaned and inspected by a professional audio repair company before they hit the floor.